2009 The University is renamed Edinburgh Napier University. The University’s Building Performance Centre is awarded the Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education.
2011 The University opens its new £60m state-of-the art Sighthill campus.
2013 Professor Andrea Nolan OBE joins the University as Principal & Vice-Chancellor.
2014 Edinburgh Napier University celebrates 50 years as an institution of learning.
2015 We launch the £100 million investment campaign Transforming Tomorrow, Together. Dr David Eustace, alumnus and internationally renowned photographer, is installed as our third Chancellor.
2016 A second Queen’s Anniversary Prize is received, this time for internationally acclaimed work in timber engineering, sustainable construction and wood science. Meanwhile, the University is rated top in the UK for adding value to students by the Guardian University Guide 2017, receives five stars for teaching, employability and internationalisation from the prestigious QS Stars rankings, and enters the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, putting us in the top 5% of universities worldwide.
1992 Napier is officially inaugurated as a University. Lord James Douglas Hamilton and Principal William Turmeau unveil the new University sign at Merchiston.
1994 Napier acquires the magnificent buildings and grounds of the former Thomas Clouston Clinic at Craighouse in south-west Edinburgh.
1996 A new Faculty of Health Studies is created within Napier University, following a merger with Lothian College of Health Studies and the Scottish Borders College of Nursing.
1997 HRH Princess Anne visits and formally opens Craighouse campus. A sculpture of John Napier by Ukrainian artist Valentin Znoba is unveiled.
2001 The £7m Jack Kilby Centre, a purpose-built 500 PC computer lab with 24-hour access, is opened at Merchiston by Nobel Prize winner Professor Jack Kilby.
2003 Professor Joan K Stringer is inaugurated as Principal & Vice-Chancellor, becoming the first female Principal of a Scottish institution of higher education.
Craiglockhart campus2004: Craiglockhart Campus re-opens after extensive refurbishment, providing modern and iconic teaching accommodation.
2005 Screen Academy Scotland is opened by First Minister Jack McConnell. It's a collaboration between Napier University and the Edinburgh College of Art. Patrons include Brian Cox, Dame Judi Dench and Sir Sean Connery.
2007 Tim Waterstone, founder of Waterstone’s booksellers, is formally inaugurated as Chancellor of the University.
2008 Napier University is rated Scotland’s best modern university by The Guardian University Guide.
2009 We are ranked first in Scotland for graduate employability by the Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA).